Motley Teachers

Here are a few of the professionals who have taught us over the years.

Please email your additions – and let’s see if we can complete the full list!

Ivan Alderman*, Head of wardrobe NT (Old Vic)
Pegaret Anthony*, history of costume
Michael Attenborough, Artistic Director, Almeida Theatre
Neil Austin, lighting designer
Jason Barnes, production manager Cottesloe technical theatre
Andy Beauchamp, scenic builder† technical drawing
Samuel Beckett, playwright & poet
Tony Bell, actor Shakespeare analysis
Sir Harrison Birtwistle, composer
John Blatchley*, opera director  history of theatre
Maria Björnson*, designer
Robin Blaze, opera singer
Keith Boak, television director
John La Bouchardiere, opera director
Danny Boyle, director
Adam Brace, playwright
Bill Bryden, director & screenwriter
John Burgess, director history of theatre
Harry Burton, actor & director
Selena Cadell, actress
Tom Cairns, director and designer†
Simon Callow, actor and director
Jennifer Carey, designer,  working with masks
Sophie Charalambous, designer† drawing techniques
Robert Carsen, director
Angela Carter*, novelist
Peter Cheeseman*, director
Cordelia Chisholm, designer design practice
Alison Chitty OBE RDI, designer course director
Diedre Clancy, designer
Teresa Clark, production designer & director†
Frank Conway, designer†
Kandis Cook, designer†
John Crowley, director
Ann Curtis, costume designer
Jess Curtis, designer† costume drawing
Mark Wing Davey, director
Joe Davis*, pioneering lighting designer
Eamon D’Arcy, large scale event designer†
Matt Deeley, designer†  modelmaking
Rory Dempster*, lighting designer
John Dexter*, theatre, film & opera director
Robin Don, designer
William Dudley RDI, designer
Atlanta Duffy, designer†
Martin Duncan, opera director
Matthew Dunster, actor, director & playwright
Timandra Dyer, production manager
Charles Edwards, designer & director
David Edwards, opera director
David Eldridge, playwright
Richard Eyre, director
Abdel Farrah*, designer
Christopher Fettes, co-founder of Drama Centre
Nikolai Foster, director
Elizabeth Friendship, expert in cutting
John Fulljames, opera director
Bill Gaskill, director
Deborah Gearing, playwright
Michael Geliot, director & former Head of Productions, WNO
Peter Gill, director
Jamie Glover, actor
David Gothard, producer history of Motley
Nat Gooden, fine artist
Henry Goodman, actor
David Gothard, producer
Andrew Greaves, fine artist
Linda Marshall Griffiths, playwright
Hayden Griffin, designer†  course co-director
Alec Guinness*, actor
Penny Hadrill, dyer† fabric dyeing
Edward Hall, director
Vicki Hallam, propmaker   mask making
Will Harding, production manager
Sir David Hare, playwright
Margaret ‘Percy’ Harris, MBE*, designer course director
Peter Hartwell, designer†  modelmaking & technical drawing
Tim Hatley, designer
Jocelyn Herbert*, designer
Philip Headley, director
Madeline Herbert, designer†  model figure making
Amanda Hill, director
Robert Holman, playwright
Sean Holmes, Artistic Director Lyric Hammersmith
Jane Howell, director
Nicholas Hytner, Artistic Director of National Theatre
Olly James, scenic artist  scenic painting
Stefan Janski, Director of Opera Studies, RNCM
Mark Jonathan, lighting designer lighting
Tadeusz Kantor, director
Jonathan Kent, director
Hartley Kemp, lighting designer
Anselm Kiefer, artist
Jenny Killick, director
Ralph Koltai RDI, director
Anthony Lamble, designer†
Stephen Langridge, opera director performing opera
David Laverne, director
Carol Lawrence, designer† masks
Jamie Leonard, designer†
David Leveaux, director
Mike Leigh, film director  designing for film
Carol Lingwood, former Head of Costume, RNT
Roddy Maude-Roxby, performer with masks
Matthew Lloyd, director, Actors’ Centre
Gillian Lynne, choreographer
James Macdonald, director
Ashley Martin-Davis, designer†
Claudia Mayer, designer†  course co-director
Róisín McBrinn, director
Simon McBurney, Artistic Director, Theatre de Complicite
Andrew McKinnon, director
Ian McNeil, designer
Tim Meacock, designer†
Jonathan Miller, opera director
Paul Miller, director
Mircea Mirodan, director
Katie Mitchell, director
Elizabeth Montgomery*, Motley designer
Christopher Morahan, director
Jon Morrell, designer
Abigail Morris, director
Vicki Mortimer, designer
Peter Mumford, lighting designer
Jonathan Munby, director
Conor Murphy, designer
Timothy O’Brien RDI, designer
Ben Ormerod, lighting designer lighting theory
Steven Pimlott*, theatre & opera director
Lucy Pitman-Wallace, director
Tom Piper, designer
Lindsay Posner, director
Stephen Pruslin, librettist
Paul Pyant, lighting designer
Sir Simon Rattle, Artistic Director, Berliner Philharmoniker
Mark Ridler, lighting designer
Kevin Robinson, director
David Roger, designer†
Paul Roseby, Artistic Director, National Youth Theatre
Josie Rourke, Artistic Director, Bush Theatre
Ian Rutherford, director
Jeremy Sams, director, writer & translator
Ursula Rani Sarma, playwright
Rumu Sen-Gupta, director
Thea Sharrock, director
Glen Byam Shaw*, actor & director
Gaia Shaw, artist & designer†  masks & casting
Mark Simmonds, designer† technical drawing
Ian Spink, director and choreographer
Stephan Skapstan*, Chief Cutter NT (Old Vic)
Tim Stark, director
Karen Stephens, director
Simon Stephens, playwright & Artistic Associate, Lyric Hammersmith
Simon Stokes, Artistic Director, Theatre Royal Plymouth
David Storey, playwright
Anena Stubbs, designer    costume design
Rob Swain, programme director of MFA Theatre Directing, Birkbeck
Andrei Tarkovsky*, film director
Gary Thorne, Head of Design at RADA†
Jenny Tiramani, designer
Sir John Tomlinson, opera singer performing opera
Di Trevis, director
Elaine Tyler Hall, opera director
Ultz, designer†
Simon Usher, director
Brien Vahey, designer†
Michael Vale, designer, associate artist Southbank Centre†
Graham Walne, theatre consultant & lighting designer    theatre history
Michael Warre, actor, director & designer   theatre history
Andrew Watts, opera singer
Anthony Waterman, modelmaker†
Justin Way, opera director
Hilary Weaver, cutter history of costume
Tim Wright, artist visual studies
Francesca Zambello, opera director

†Motley alumni